The Aethra Chronicles - Volume One - Celystras Bane

No gamepads detected. Plug in and press a button to use it.
Rate it: 

Press Keyboard right side: Alt+Enter keys to switch to full screen game play, and Alt+Enter keys to return.

How to play: 

Each game uses different controls, most DOS games use the keyboard arrows. Some will use the mouse.


The Aethra Chronicles - Volume One: Celystra's Bane or The Aethra Chronicles (also known as Aethra for short) is a classic 1994 MS-DOS shareware computer role playing game. The game was based on the Rolemaster game system, a Pencil & Paper role playing game. It was developed mostly as a one-man project by Michael Lawrence with some help from others for the graphics and sound/music.

The game is mostly played through a bird's eye view perspective where the camera is either showing the country scape, a town or a dungeon. Each version 'zooms in' closer to the ground and the resulting view shows more detail. For combat, the game uses a side view, that is dynamically constructed from the location the player's party was just before combat commenced.

The player is in control of the protagonist and two other characters and sets out to investigate the imprisonment of his or her father by the new King. Additional henchmen can be hired for a total of 6 controllable characters at the time.

The Aethra Chronicles is a fantasy role playing game similar in style to Ultima and Bards Tale. The player is on a quest to discover who has kidnapped the newborn prince and why. The game starts with the player creating his character and two companions. Additional companions may be hired or found at some point in the game. The quest will take the characters to every town and village in the land. Many fearsome creatures will have to be faced. There are over a hundred different monsters from the lowly Giant Rat to the fearsome Red Dragon.

— Advertizer as used on bulletin board systems


No posted cheats for this game yet.

Game year: 

Random selection of games and software.

DOS 1998
DOS 1993
DOS 1987
SEGA Genesis 1991
DOS 1990
DOS 1988
DOS 1989
DOS 1989