Might and Magic: Book One - Secret of the Inner Sanctum

No gamepads detected. Plug in and press a button to use it.

Press Keyboard right side: Alt+Enter keys to switch to full screen game play, and Alt+Enter keys to return.

Rate it

How to play Might and Magic: Book One - Secret of the Inner Sanctum

Each game uses different controls, most DOS games use the keyboard arrows. Some will use the mouse.

Might and Magic: Book One - Secret of the Inner Sanctum Description

Might and Magic: The Secret Of The Inner Sanctum is an early computer role-playing game released for the Apple II, IBM PC, NES and a number of other platforms, and is the first game in the Might and Magic series. It was published in 1986 by New World Computing and also later re-released in the Might and Magic VI: The Mandate of Heaven Special Edition.

The original Apple II version of the game was written almost single-handedly by Jon Van Caneghem over three years. Due to its popularity it was ported to a number of other platforms that were popular at the time, and eight sequels were released over the next fifteen years.

The game centers around 6 adventurers who are trying to discover the secret of the Inner Sanctum, a kind of "holy grail" quest in the land of VARN. While trying to discover the Inner Sanctum, the heroes discover information about Corak's hunt for the missing Sheltem and end up unmasking Sheltem, who had been masquerading as the King, and defeating his evil machinations. At the end of the game they go through the "Gates to Another World" and travel to CRON, not knowing that Sheltem has also escaped to that world.

Might and Magic utilises a first person perspective interface similar to that employed by Bard's Tale, where the gaming world is divided into a maze-like grid and the player's movement options are to move forward or backward, or turn ninety degrees left or right. The player controls a party of up to six characters, whose abilities are based on a set of rules, similar to a cut-down version of the Dungeons and Dragons rules. Both exploration and combat are turn based, hence the pace of the game is controlled by the player. Enemy creatures are not visible to the player until the party occupies the same square as them, so the game is often plunged into combat without warning.

The game is set on the medieval fantasy world of VARN (Vehicular Astropod Research Nacelle) which features expansive outdoor terrain, castles, caves, underground cities and an Astral Plane, which the party must explore in search of the Inner Sanctum and its secret. Most of the enemy creatures encountered are of the generic fantasy type, as described in the core Dungeons and Dragons manuals.

Might and Magic: Book One - Secret of the Inner Sanctum - additional information

Game year
Also known as
"魔法門" -- Chinese spelling (traditional)
"Меч и Магия" -- Russian spelling
"Mech i Magija" -- Russian title
Cover Art
Might and Magic: Book One - Secret of the Inner Sanctum  - Cover Art DOS